Book - 1978-1992
Rate this:
This is the final instalment of David Brown's authoritative four-volume study of Tchaikovsky's life and music, which even the Russians themselves have acclaimed as the most comprehensive ever attempted. It deals with the period of Tchaikovsky's greatest international fame, which he consolidated by triumphant tours through Western Europe and the USA. But, as David Brown reveals, these years also saw a growing dichotomy between the composer's worldly success and a deepening inner gloom that was to end in suicide, in circumstances which seem both bizarre and horrifying. Drawing on recently available evidence, David Brown provides a lucid and balanced account of Tchaikovsky's last days, which until now have so often been the subject of fabrication and distortion.
Publisher: New York : Norton, 1978-1992
Edition: First American edition
ISBN: 9780393030990
Branch Call Number: 780.924 T219B
Characteristics: 4 volumes : illustrations, music, portraits ; 23 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SPL

To Top