4 by Pelevin

4 by Pelevin


Book - 2001
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Four stories by one of the most popularand critically controversialyoung writers to emerge from post-Glasnost Russia. "Hermit and Six Toes"; "Vera Pavlovna's Ninth Dream"; "The Life and Adventures of Shed Number XII"; and "Tai Shou Chuan USSR" are four characterstic stories by the young Russian virtuoso Victor Pelevin, here collected in a New Directions Bibelot edition. With a deadpan and cooly ironic voice that speaks of the phantasmagorical, the surreal, the grotesque and the absurd just as affectingly as Gogol did in his day, Victor Pelevin writes of the dark chaos of the New Russia. In one story, a public toilet attendant discovers in her tiled hovel the entranceway to an alternate reality; in another, a man walks through a city at night with a companion he isn't entirely sure isn't his own shadow. This slim volume offers first-time Pelevin readers a compelling taste of his bleakly comic genius.
Publisher: New York : New Directions, 2001
ISBN: 9780811214919
Branch Call Number: FIC PELEVIN
Characteristics: 101 pages ; 18 cm
Additional Contributors: Bromfield, Andrew
Alternative Title: Four by Pelevin


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Jun 19, 2018

The first two stories are imaginative and good reading, but the next (and final) two quickly become a mishmash that lost my interest. I did finish them, but it felt like a chore.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings

No similar edition of this title was found at SPL.

Try searching for 4 by Pelevin to see if SPL owns related versions of the work.

Suggest for Purchase

To Top