The Coretta Scott King Awards, 1970-2004

The Coretta Scott King Awards, 1970-2004

Book - 2004
Rate this:
During a conference in 1969, two librarians, Glyndon Flynt Greer and Mabel McKissick, happened to meet at the booth of publisher John Carroll. The trio observed that no African-American author or illustrator had ever been honored by the prestigious Newbery and Caldecott Awards. It was decided that a special award should be developed to bring attention to the fine work produced in books for children and young people - work created by African-American authors and illustrators. In 1970, the first of these awards - The Coretta Scott King Award - was presented to author Lillie Patterson at the New Jersey Library Association meeting. Since then, this award has paid tribute to the best of the best African-American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults. Dedicated to the memory of children's book author Virginia Hamilton, The Coretta Scott King Awards: 1970-2004 celebrates 35 years of African-American contributions to children's literature. This unique volume not only celebrates the award and the African-American community, but is a valuable selection tool and a teaching resource, both in schools for children and in library science programs. This new edition featur
Publisher: Chicago : American Library Association, 2004
Edition: Third edition
ISBN: 9780838935408
Branch Call Number: J016.8108 C8127 2004
Characteristics: xi, 163 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (some color) ; 28 cm
Additional Contributors: Smith, Henrietta M.

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SPL

To Top