Shostakovich Symphonies and Concertos

Shostakovich Symphonies and Concertos

An Owner's Manual

Book - 2006
Rate this:
(Unlocking the Masters). The fall of the Soviet empire has not diminished the popularity of Dmitri Shostakovich's great symphonies and concertos one bit, despite the fact that most literature on him neglects any substantive discussion of the music itself in favor of biographical speculation on the relationship between the composer and the political climate of the day. This is the first book to provide a detailed, descriptive analysis of the 21 symphonies and concertos, work by work, explaining not just why they are significant documents of their time and place, but why they are great music in general. This offers readers an understanding of why Shostakovich's music enjoys the enduring support of performers and listeners alike, and how it fits into the great tradition of Western classical music generally.
Publisher: Pompton Plains, N.J. : Amadeus ; [Milwaukee, Wis.] : Exclusively distributed by Hal Leonard, 2006
ISBN: 9781574671315
Branch Call Number: 780.92 Sh821H 2006
Characteristics: 222 pages ; 23 cm. + 1 audio disc (digital ; 4 3/4 in.)


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SPL

To Top