Just Kids

Just Kids

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
50
Patti's Smith's exquisite prose is generously illustrated in this full-color edition of her classic coming-of-age memoir, Just Kids. New York locations vividly come to life where, as young artists, Patti Smith and Robert Mapplethorpe met and fell in love: a first apartment in Brooklyn, Times Square with John and Yoko's iconic billboard, Max's Kansas City, or the gritty fire escape of the Hotel Chelsea. The extraordinary people who passed through their lives are also pictured: Sam Shepard, Harry Smith, William Burroughs, Allen Ginsberg. Along with never-before-published photographs, drawings, and ephemera, this edition captures a moment in New York when everything was possible. And when two kids seized their destinies as artists and soul mates in this inspired story of love and friendship.
Publisher: New York, NY : Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]
Edition: Illustrated edition
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9780062873743
0062873741
Branch Call Number: 782.42166 Sm634S 2018
Characteristics: xiii, 365 pages : illustrations (some color) ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
OPL_AnnaW Dec 20, 2019

A beautiful tribute to friendship, chasing muses, and irrepressible youth. For fans of Patti Smith, Robert Mapplethorpe, art, and 1970's New York.

t
tk607
Dec 15, 2019

I give this book a five star rating because I am a Patti Smith fan. I was a child of the 60's but did not remember anything of Patti Smith when I picked up her book "Devotion". I then read "M Train" and now "Just Kids". Her words speak to me. It is a feeling that our path's have crossed.

HCL_staff_reviews Aug 12, 2019

Both a touching love story and an intriguing peek into a historical slice of New York City in the late 60's and 70's, this memoir is about the emergence of two talented and important artists, and their steady relationship throughout it all. Patti Smith and Robert Mapplethorpe didn't have much when they started out together, but they had each other, which was more than enough fuel to feed each other's creative fires. Smith's tribute to Mapplethorpe is both tender and turbulent, but above all, it's a beautiful elegy. — Jane B., Linden Hills Library

r
rlbeekman
Apr 05, 2019

For a life and relationships of such inherent interest, this memoir is surprisingly flat and boring in the telling.

sclibrary_Rachelgail Mar 15, 2019

Loved this love story of a beautiful friendship. It was fun to grow up with Patti Smith and learn about her deepest influences.

t
tweedim32
Jan 25, 2019

I enjoyed this quite a bit. I thought it was a real love story, though not in a conventional sense. I later bought copies for two friends who love music and the arts. Quick warning it does have some lurid scenes - they didn't bother me, as i was expecting from an arts and rock n roll book set in the 70s/80s - but it may not be for everyone. It was impressive that Patti Smith "really" wrote it without a ghost writer, but with that said it wasn't Shakespeare.

m
mclarjh
Aug 01, 2018

Good (but not very good) writing; little self awareness; mostly a homage to Robert; for fans.

h
HARFANGORIA
Jul 03, 2018

This book will genuinely transport you to its time and place. To love the book, you need to give a hoot about life for a tortured genius pair, one proto-punk and one emergent gay icon, in the deliciously seedy NYC of the late '60s thru mid '70s. If this is up your alley, you just might plow through this little bible again and again.

b
booknrrd
Apr 25, 2018

Patti Smith's memoir of her life with Robert Mapplethorpe beginning in 1967 and ending around the time that her debut album came out in 1975. She covers her relationship with Mapplethorpe after that period but the focus is on the years that they lived together first in Brooklyn, then in Manhattan.

I knew next to nothing about Smith prior to reading this, so I found myself spending a lot of time doing additional reading. Smith has a gift for writing. Her background in poetry really shines through and her love for Mapplethorpe.

DBRL_IdaF Mar 14, 2018

Fascinating. I'm a long-time fan of Patti Smith's music. I had very little knowledge of Robert Mapplethorpe, except to know his work was controversial. It was interesting reading about the development of their two artistic visions and the relationship between them as friends and as artists.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
SPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top