When She Woke

When She Woke

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
35
2
1
In the future, abortion has become a crime as a series of events threatens the existence of the United States. One woman wakes up to discover that her skin color has been changed to red as punishment for having the procedure done. Now she must embark on a dangerous journey in order to find refuge from a hostile and threatening society.
Publisher: Chapel Hill, N.C. : Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 2011
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9781565126299
1565126297
Branch Call Number: FIC JORDAN 2011
Characteristics: 344 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Hannah Payne awakes alone in a prison cell to find to her horror that she has been dyed completely red. In this terrifying revision of Nathaniel Hawthorne’s classic "The Scarlet Letter," the punishment for crime is genetic treatment that alters skin color. Hannah must now live a life of... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
tracysue
Feb 04, 2019

Sometimes when I read a book, it seems that the author is writing it in hopes that it will become a movie. The story is set up, builds to a climactic action scene, some unlikely miracle happens and the problem is resolved. This is one of those books.

That said, it was still an interesting, entertaining, and memorable book.

g
gvoolich
Dec 26, 2018

Great concept and epic story! This was a really great feminist dystopian fiction story with a modern conceptualuzation of not only the criticism that accompanies women's choices in general, but their rights as well. I did feel that some characters were unnecessary and underdeveloped, but this may have been the author's way of forcing the whirlwind feeling of Hannah's journey. Overall good book.

LoganLib_JennyI Jul 22, 2018

Hillary Jordan's writing was fabulous with great pace and the character portrayal of Hannah made you really care about her.
I had to keep picking up the book to check on Hannah!
The world created by Jordan could definitely be expanded into more books to flesh out this dystopian future.
It is reminiscent of Margaret Atwood's "The Handmaid's Tale".

TSCPL_Miranda May 21, 2018

It was hard to put this one down! A well written, modern day take on The Scarlet Letter, with a strong, sympathetic main character. Fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Red Clocks will find much to admire in this thought-provoking story.

OPL_MaggieP Apr 13, 2018

Fast paced with influences of "The Handmaid's Tale".

LPL_PolliK Nov 30, 2017

When She Woke is a dystopian riff on The Scarlet Letter, but infinitely more discussable. The concept of turning "criminals" into brightly pigmented reality TV fodder alone is enough to talk about for an entire book club, but the rest of the novel keeps you reading and thinking. Jordan does a fine job of painting a not-to-distant future that seems real enough to give one pause. Superb fiction in the vein of The Handmaid's Tale, The Book of the Unnamed Midwife, and Parable of the Sower.

SCL_Tricia Nov 22, 2017

I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick, thought provoking read. I would recommend this book if you know what you are getting into. I did find it got a bit preachy at times. There is a part in the middle that I did not agree with, I felt it went against so much that the author was saying throughout the rest of the novel. The whole scene just felt wrong, when you get there you will understand.

d
daysleeper236
Nov 05, 2017

A fast-paced, dystopian thriller.

k
KatG1983
Jun 06, 2017

I really enjoyed this book, which is sort of a modern take on The Scarlett Letter. The dystopian future painted by the author feels realistic, especially with some of the 'alt-right Christians' holding power in the United States of recent months. As a commenter below mentioned, I feel like the first third of the book was the best part, and that the author missed an opportunity to further explore the world she set up. But, in all, it was a good read. Recommended for anyone who is watching the current TV show version of Atwood's Handmaid's Tale.

p
PearlyBaker
Jun 01, 2017

I really liked this author and she captivated me with this awful world she created in the near future. However the middle turned into a young adult romance adventure complete with obligatory lesbian sex, which was nice, however the end was way too saccharine sweet for this old sailor. I prefer my dystopia to either be the truth which is WE ARE ALL GOING TO DIE or at least more realistic where the Christians all die and the lesbians take over and bring peace and harmony to our poisoned prison planet.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
LoganLib_JennyI Jul 26, 2018

LoganLib_JennyI thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

s
Suvorov1
Feb 21, 2013

Suvorov1 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top