Look!

Look!

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
This hilarious tale of a friendship that develops over a love of books is the perfect picture book for fans of IT'S A BOOK and OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA! Everyone needs a little attention from time to time. Just ask our gorilla who will stop at nothing to be noticed by the boy with his eyes glued to the TV set. But for the gorilla, it's going to take more than a quiet nudge to steal away the boy's attention. When his usual antics fail to catch the boy's eye--LOOK OUT! The gorilla has some other tricks up his sleeve. Using only two words--LOOK and OUT--Jeff Mack relates an adorably hilarious story about an attention-loving gorilla, a television-loving boy, and a friendship that develops over books. Simple in construct yet richly creative, this interactive and colorful tale will leave children laughing and loving books for years to come. Perfect for fans of It's a Book and Officer Buckle and Gloria. Praise for LOOK!: * "The slapstick action unfolds on linen-textured backgrounds, battered vintage book covers, and the actual pages of a book--hat-tips to the physicality of books that hint at a happy ending for bibliophiles of all ages. Even if audiences miss these winks and nods to the tactile pleasures of reading, they'll still love that gorilla: hulking, eager-to-please and almost palpably furry, he'll be welcome in any room."--Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW "The personalities and emotions of the chunky, fluffy ape and the TV-entranced boy nearly vibrate off the page. Look, indeed! An energetic invitation to the joys of books."--Kirkus Reviews "This is a fun read-aloud that will have children wanting to look and look again."--School Library Journal "Look! treads familiar metafictive ground in celebrating the pleasures of reading, but it manages to feel fresh nonetheless, with inventive use of controlled text, vibrant mixed-media art, and thoughtful design."--Horn Book From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York : Penguin Young Readers Group, 2015
ISBN: 9780698174276
Branch Call Number: EBOOK J OVERDRIVE
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

coloradobuck Jun 19, 2018

interactive, mostly wordless, tells a story with only the words "look" and "out." cute. It's primarily about a gorilla who wants to read books vs. a boy who wants to watch TV.

lms Nov 25, 2015

linked as best bet :
https://www.commonsensemedia.org/guide/holiday-gift-guide-2015?utm_source=November+2015+-+Holiday+Gift+Guide&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=weekly

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top