Mrs. Jeffries Learns the Trade

Mrs. Jeffries Learns the Trade

Book - 2005
Average Rating:
Rate this:
The 1st 3 Mrs. Jeffries mysteries.
Publisher: New York : Berkley Prime Crime, [2005]
Edition: Berkley Prime Crime trade paperback edition
Copyright Date: ©2005
ISBN: 9780425203460
Branch Call Number: MYSTERY BRIGHTW 2005
Characteristics: 454 pages ; 23 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Apr 01, 2017

"Mrs. Jeffries Learns the Trade" is an anthology of the first 3 books in the Mrs. Jeffries Mystery Series. Book 1: Inspector and Mrs. Jeffries. Book 2: Mrs. Jeffries Dusts for Clues. Book 3: The Ghost and Mrs. Jeffries. (Books 3 , 4 and 5 are included in anthology 2 "Mrs. Jeffries Takes A Second Look".) The Mrs. Jeffries series is set in Victorian England. Mrs. Jeffries is the housekeeper for police Inspector Witherspoon. The book centers around the household staff secretly assisting the Inspector to solve murders. While this series contains murders, there is no graphic content, foul language or sex (there is some romance of the handholding, kissing variety and references to suspects having 'illicit affairs'). Feminists may object to Mrs. Jeffries solving the crimes, while allowing the Inspector, Mr. Witherspoon to take the credit. However, I feel that the staff, who take pride in their work, are simply looking for ways to add some excitement to their lives and are not seeking credit for surreptitiously helping the Inspector. I enjoy the household staff's interaction and how they use their specific skills to investigate.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors


Subject Headings


Find it at SPL

To Top