Last Night in the OR

Last Night in the OR

A Transplant Surgeon's Odyssey

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
For readers of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Paul A. Ruggieri's Confessions of a Surgeon, and Atul Gawande's Better -- a pioneering surgeon shares memories from a life in one of surgery's most demanding fields The 1980s marked a revolution in the field of organ transplants, and Bud Shaw, M.D., who studied under Tom Starzl in Pittsburgh, was on the front lines. Now retired from active practice, Dr. Shaw relays gripping moments of anguish and elation, frustration and reward, despair and hope in his struggle to save patients. He reveals harshly intimate moments of his medical career: telling a patient's husband that his wife has died during surgery; struggling to complete a twenty-hour operation as mental and physical exhaustion inch closer and closer; and flying to retrieve a donor organ while the patient waits in the operating room. Within these more emotionally charged vignettes are quieter ones, too, like growing up in rural Ohio, and being awakened late at night by footsteps in the hall as his father, also a surgeon, slipped out of the house to attend to a patient in the ER. In the tradition of Mary Roach, Jerome Groopman, Eric Topol, and Atul Gawande, Last Night in the OR is an exhilarating, fast-paced, and beautifully written memoir, one that will captivate readers with its courage, intimacy, and honesty. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Publisher: New York : Penguin Publishing Group, 2015
ISBN: 9780698187412
Branch Call Number: EBOOK OVERDRIVE
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
Checkerberry
Sep 08, 2016

If you watched Emergency Room - Life and Death at VGH, you will like this read. Not for those due for major surgery though. Incredible how they manage to function when so sleep deprived. The narrative was a bit disjointed for me but still highly recommended for a look behind the closed doors of the OR as well as a very personal account of this surgeon's life journey.

l
lilypad_1
Dec 11, 2015

Wow. The life of a transplant doctor(part of it in NE) is totally bizarre. How does one go to school that long? How does one stand up for half a week while performing tedious life saving/risking surgeries? It alters my perception of the science of organ transplantation to one of inspired doctors who deal with unrealistic and demanding deadlines, risking careers and their own health to save another life. It also brings up the moral dilemmas of who gets the limited number of organs. I also wonder how we can provide resources for this type of procedure when so many cannot afford basic health care. This is a very surprising and intimate look at the anatomy and human(e) science of organ transplantation.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top