Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea

Downloadable Audiobook - 2016
Average Rating:
1
1
Rate this:
For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, international bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies. In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically acclaimed #1 NYT bestseller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. Praise for Salt to the Sea: "Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In Salt to the Sea the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimate storytelling."--Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Printz Award Honor Book Code Name Verity "A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying--and little-known--moment in World War II history."--Steve Sheinkin, author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist Bomb "Brutal. Beautiful. Honest."--Sabaa Tahir, New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes * "Sepetys excels in shining light on lost chapters of history."--Publishers Weekly, starred review * "This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."--Booklist, starred review * "Artfully told and sensitively crafted, Sepetys's exploration of this little-known piece of history will leave readers weeping."--School Library Journal, starred review "Heartbreaking, historical, and a little bit hopeful."--Kirkus "This novel will break readers' hearts and then put them back together a little more whole."--VOYA Praise for Between Shades of Gray: A New York Times Notable Book of 2011 A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book of 2011 A Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal, Booklist, and Kirkus Best Book of 2011 The iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel 2012 Indies Choice Young Adult Book of the Year A Carnegie Medal Finalist A William C. Morris Finalist A New York Times and International Bestseller "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."--The Washington Post * "A harrowing page-turner."--Publishers Weekly, starred review * "A gripping...
Publisher: New York : Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, 2016
ISBN: 9780147525468
Branch Call Number: EAUDIO YA OVERDRIVE
Characteristics: 1 audio file : digital
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

i
InsJavert
Dec 02, 2016

The author chose a little know terrible event to weave a very gripping story. The real event was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff in the Baltic Sea near the end of WWII, in which as many as 9,000 people drowned, mostly children, to date the most costly ship sinking in recorded history.

The story begins with a rag tag group of people, fleeing the ravages of the war around them as the Russian army is encircling the repeating Nazi army. The refugees are the victims caught in the middle. The Russian army is brutal and savage. The Germany army is mercilessly practical, only allowing evacuations only at the last moment.

The cast of characters selected to weave this story, adds to, and brings to life, what and who all these people where, what they had to suffer to escape from the Russians, and the horrific impact the war had on the everyday person. The author did her homework and uses the facts, devastation, brutality of war and its impact on people who are just simply trying to survive and live.

If only you can get to the port to board a ship. If only you can manage to be one of the very few who gets a boarding pass, them maybe, just maybe, you can live another day. But first you have to evade the Russians who will kill you for a watch and any woman, especially young woman, will be savageidly and brutally raped. The Germany army who eyes everyone with suspicion and if you are not of the right heritage, will be discarded if not killed right then and there. The real terror, all this involved children, as their parents had already been killed, forced into labor, are were conscripted into the army.

This is not a story for the faint hearted as the brutality of war is vividly portrayed. The cost of surviving day to day is unimaginable, especially to Americans. The hope these people clung to, so frail and so easily taken away, but tenaciously held on to, because that is all these people had left. The selfishness of living, not caring a thing to your fellow human being, because they would kill you for the slightest reason and certainly don't care about you, for they just want to live, live another day.

The last thin thread of hope is put to the final test when the fate of the Wilhelm Gustloff as well as these refugees comes to a finally. It is not a happy ending.

This book was gripping and shocking. I knew nothing of the real maritime tragedy until reading this book. It is against the backdrop of this horror and the cost of lives that this story brings this real event to the public. There is very little pleasant or happy in this book. It is dark, brutal, and real. It is not overdone, it is not overly graphic, but it is cold and blunt.

I think what touched me so deeply about this book; the hope these people had, to have it so savagely ripped from them at the cost of their lives.

Age

Add Age Suitability

i
InsJavert
Dec 02, 2016

InsJavert thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top