Lucky Penny

Lucky Penny

Graphic Novel - 2016
Average Rating:
5
1
Rate this:
"If Penny Brighton didn't have bad luck, she'd have no luck at all. She lost her job. And her apartment. In the same day. But it's okay, her friend has a cozy storage unit she can crash in. And there's bound to be career opportunities at the neighborhood laundromat- just look how fast that 12-year-old who runs the place made it to management! Plus, there's this sweet guy at the community center, and maybe Penny can even have a conversation with him without being a total dork. Surely Penny is a capable of becoming an actual responsible adult, and if she can do that her luck's bound to change! Right?"--www.amazon.com
Publisher: Portland, OR : Oni Press, 2016
ISBN: 9781620102879
1620102870
Branch Call Number: YA 741.5973 H617L 2016
YA 741.5973 H617L 2016
Characteristics: 199 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm
Additional Contributors: Ota, Yuko

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

samcmar Sep 18, 2017

Adorbs and totally for fans who love heroines that are always looking on the brighter side of life!

j
J22Kerr
Aug 22, 2017

Funny and entertaining throughout. I couldn't help but fall in love with the main characters.

t
The_7th_Comrade
Jun 25, 2017

Honestly, I'm not going to spoil anything. t's that good of a book. But aside from that stuff, if you like the Scott Pilgrim series, you'd love this. (They're both made by the same Publisher!) but anyway. Good book, must read.

KHCPL_Doug Jan 27, 2017

This book was a nice, lighthearted and just a little ridiculous escape into someone else's messed up world. I loved it. The art is perfect with the subject, a little manga influenced and very detailed. Penny herself is absolutely adorable, even as her strengths outshine her bad luck. I had a lot of laugh-out-loud moments reading it, and couldn't wait to keep going and exploring her world. There were moments it felt like the author could have slowed down and explored her story just a little more, but that's a minor complaint. Overall it was a really good graphic novel.

LPL_CentennialC Mar 21, 2016

This graphic novel is about a twenty-something girl named Penny who can't seem to shake off her bad luck. Plus: an evil 12-year old boss, a cat who won't go away, Dungeons and Dragons, inexplicable action sequences, and a little romance.

Penny's character is a lovable hot-mess--and the plot is perfectly quirky & uplifting. Ridiculously charming! I read this graphic novel in one sitting, and smiled the whole way through! Perfect for fans of Scott Pilgrim--adults and teens alike.

Age

Add Age Suitability

PimaLib_MiguelV Mar 22, 2017

PimaLib_MiguelV thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top