The Progeny

The Progeny

A Novel

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
"New York Times bestselling author Tosca Lee brings a modern twist to an ancient mystery surrounding the most notorious female serial killer of all time. A fast-paced thriller for fans of Ted Dekker's The Books of Mortals, Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code, and BBC America's hit series Orphan Black. Emily Jacobs is the descendant of a serial killer. Now, she's become the hunted. She's on a quest that will take her to the secret underground of Europe and the inner circles of three ancient orders--one determined to kill her, one devoted to keeping her alive, and one she must ultimately save. Filled with adrenaline, romance, and reversals, The Progeny is the present-day saga of a 400-year-old war between the uncanny descendants of "Blood Countess" Elizabeth Bathory, the most prolific female serial killer of all time, and a secret society dedicated to erasing every one of her descendants. A story about the search for self filled with centuries-old intrigues against the backdrop of atrocity and hope"--
Publisher: New York : Howard Books, 2016
Edition: First Howard Books hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781476798691
1476798699
Branch Call Number: FIC LEE 2016
Characteristics: 322 pages : map ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
Memawrayne
Feb 23, 2018

A good author is able to convince the reader to accept unreality as normal. This author failed miserably. The premise was totally stupid and the characters were unbelievable. She had the gall to not finish the story in one book as if it needed more pages to develop a silly plot. She has co-authored with Ted Dekker and his books are even more weird so her writing should be expected as it is. Are these authors on some drug to come up with these ideas?

I know you're not suppose to but I judge books by their covers all the time. When I saw this on the shelf last July I know I HAD to read it! I'm so glad I decided to check it out because it's now one of my favorite books. I reread this 2 days before the sequel Firstborn came out. I recommend this series! I love Tosca Lee's books!

m
mirijo
Jul 14, 2016

SO. GOOD. The book is, at a lot of points, very confusing--and I think that's a good thing. The protagonist is, throughout much of the book, supposed to be very confused about what to do, who she can trust, and who's on your side; Lee lets you discover everything with her, leaving you equally confused as her through much of the book which I think lends an air of urgency and really draws the reader into the story.

I checked this out on Friday and finished it on Saturday. Now (Thursday) I just put it on hold again because I haven't been able to stop thinking about it and I NEED to read it again. I can't wait for the sequel!!!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top