A Robot in the Garden

A Robot in the Garden

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:

For fans of THE ROSIE PROJECT and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHTTIME, a broken man and his damaged robot build an unlikely friendship--with some assembly required.

Ben's really great at failing at things--his job, being a husband, taking the garbage out. But then he finds a battered robot named Tang in his garden. And Tang needs Ben.

More ornery and prone to tantrums than one would expect from something made of gears and springs, Tang desperately must be fixed--and he just might be the thing to fix what's broken in Ben. Together they will discover that friendship can rise up under the strangest of circumstances, and what it really means to be human.

Funny, touching, charming, wise, and a bit unusual, A Robot in the Garden is a gem of a first novel, perfect for anyone who has ever found it difficult to connection with the world.

"Our hero is a FANTASTIC and UNFORGETTABLE creation, and so is this absolute marvel of a novel."--Neil Smith, author of Bang Crunch and Boo

"An inventive and utterly charming tale...heartwarming."-- Booklist , Starred Review

Publisher: Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Landmark, 2016
ISBN: 9781492631262
1492631264
Branch Call Number: FIC INSTALL 2016
Characteristics: 314 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

e
EricaReynolds
Jan 24, 2017

A charming, quirky book. Utterly enjoyable, and a perfect light but not fluffy book to enjoy over a vacation or weekend or just when you need a break from the news of the day. If you liked Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore for being a modern day quest, I think you'll enjoy this book. Highly Recommended.

a
athena14
Dec 18, 2016

Tang is delightful, but the humans are too predictable.

k
kkirby221
Dec 01, 2016

Enjoyed the book. Took me about 100 pages to be engaged with the storyline but I was glad I stuck with it. Interesting viewpoint on human and "robot" friendships. Nice side story regarding growth of human maturity. I would recommend this book to friends who want a sweet story and don't mind robots.

AL_ALICE Aug 05, 2016

One of the most charming books I've read in years. Highly recommended to anyone fond of "gentle reads." The novel is so many things--poignant, funny, insightful. Could not put it down.

Don't let the idea of a robot put you off if you don't like science fiction. Everything in the setting is absolutely normal except that the world has robots and androids that perform useful tasks. Tang, the robot, reminded me of R2D2 as a small child.

An Englishman named Ben has been mourning the death of his parents for five years. One morning he discovers a small robot in his garden. No one knows where the robot has come from. It is covered with grime and spends its time staring at the horses next door. The man's wife wants him to take the robot to the dump. She wants a brand-new useful android. The man, in his typical obstinate way, refuses. And so his life begins to change.

l
LeAnneSt
Jun 23, 2016

A wonderful read that reminds us that we must all come to grips with our grief in our own way. An epic journey, seeing the odd that the world has to offer and finding friendship in the unlikely form of a robot named Tang.

s
stewch
Nov 01, 2015

A charming and whimsical story, which I really enjoyed.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top