An Unkindness of Ghosts

An Unkindness of Ghosts

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
11
3
"An Unkindness of Ghosts marks the debut of a wildly talented writer. Rivers Solomon has put together a heady science-fiction novel that speaks directly to some of the most pressing political and social concerns of the modern day. And yet for all that it remains deeply humane, and it's even quite funny at times. This is a book you'll want to read now so you can tell your friends you read it first." —Victor LaValle,, author of The Changeling"Welcome to the Tarlands aboard the space vessel HSS Matilda—home of the poor and rejected—and the setting of Rivers Solomon's powerful debut novel. Imaginative in the vein of Colson Whitehead, Samuel R. Delany, and Octavia E. Butler, this novel explores the struggles of slum dwellers aboard a spacecraft sadly reminiscent of our own world: rife with poverty, caste, and discrimination as told through the Looking Glass. With outstanding world-building and an unforgettable protagonist in Aster, An Unkindness of Ghosts is a notable debut by an author whose work I look forward to reading for years to come."—Tananarive Due, author of The Living Blood and Ghost SummerOdd-mannered, obsessive, withdrawn, Aster has little to offer folks in the way of rebuttal when they call her ogre and freak. She's used to the names; she only wishes there was more truth to them. If she were truly a monster, as they accuse, she'd be powerful enough to tear down the walls around her until nothing remained of her world, save for stories told around the cookfire.Aster lives in the low-deck slums of the HSS Matilda, a space vessel organized much like the antebellum South. For generations, the Matilda has ferried the last of humanity to a mythical Promised Land. On its way, the ship's leaders have imposed harsh moral restrictions and deep indignities on dark-skinned sharecroppers like Aster, who they consider to be less than human.When the autopsy of Matilda's sovereign reveals a surprising link between his death and her mother's suicide some quarter-century before, Aster retraces her mother's footsteps. Embroiled in a grudge with a brutal overseer and sewing the seeds of civil war, Aster learns there may be a way off the ship if she's willing to fight for it.An Unkindness of Ghosts will appeal to a broad audience, including fans of books such as The Magicians by Lev Grossman, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, Cold Magic by Kate Elliott, The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman, The Intuitionist by Colson Whitehead, and Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.
Publisher: LaVergne : Akashic Books, 2017
ISBN: 9781617755996
Branch Call Number: EBOOK OVERDRIVE
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From Library Staff

This debut novel takes you on a futurist journey on the HSS Matilda, a massive spaceship, journeying towards a promised land after Earth has been destroyed. Tensions grow as segregation has taken root among the decks.

Aster only knows the Matilda, a generation ship stratified by race and class on its layered decks, but the mystery of her parentage and whispers of revolution signal change.

Living on the lower deck slums of the interstellar HSS Matilda, the very qualities that leave Aster Grey from fully engaging in the ship’s society may what helps her decode the hidden messages handed down by her long-deceased mother.

Fiction.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
Hillsboro_JeanineM Jul 14, 2020

The Antebellum South is recreated in space with the levels of the ship being a physical caste system to separate people of differing shades of color. The levels are also distinguished by different languages and religious beliefs. Solomon creates a distinct yet familiar world.

b
BisexualBastard
Mar 23, 2020

A stunning, crushing, amazing book. While initially I was devastated by the lack of literal ghosts in this book, I was quickly drawn in by Aster's obvious neurodivergence, then by the richness of the world she lives in. Solomon paints a fascinating world that changed my idea of what science fiction should be forever. In addition, she writes complex characters, and my feelings about them were just as complicated and conflicting as my feelings for real people. Despite the brutal take on slavery (as it should be) the book often felt like a comfortable landing place to rest as I read it. As I devoured it in about two hours, that didn't last long, but a beautiful book like this was hard to put down. This is one of my favorite books of all time, and I think everyone should read it.

JCLS_Ashland_Kristin Jan 26, 2020

Thought provoking scifi/afro-futurism.

STPL_JessH Sep 19, 2019

One of the Read Harder categories this year includes “a book by an AOC set in or about space.” I chose An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon and was really excited about the gender diversity and fluidity throughout the text. The book is set on the HSS Matilda which is at once centuries in the future and perpetuating the past since the “vessel is organized much like the antebellum South.” Aster is a complex and compelling character and I was surprised by how often her humour delighted me even amidst a really tragic story. I’m looking forward to Solomon’s new novel called The Deep that will be published in November.

r
ryner
Jun 25, 2019

The colossal spaceship Matilda is hurtling through space, though no one is navigating any longer. Its dozens of decks have housed its inhabitants, and Baby Sun has provided energy for sustenance, for one thousand years. Denizens of the lower decks are virtual prisoners and slaves, so that citizens of the upper echelons may live in relative luxury. Aster, a lay-chemist and -healer, lives on Q deck, and in her scant spare time pores over the journals left by her mother before she disappeared mysteriously twenty-five years ago.

This is less a story "about space" than a novel about secrets, relationships and politics that just happens to take place aboard a spaceship. I really liked it, especially the character of Aster. Recommended.

WCLSNorthForkLibrary Feb 01, 2019

A diverse, thought-provoking Sci-Fi about the distant future of mankind, trapped on a giant spaceship for generations and perpetuating much the same follies as we have thus far in our history. It manages simultaneously to be original and unpredictable, with a dark and brooding tone.
~Alexa

One of the most inventive, unique and brilliant debuts I've read. Rivers places the reader within a post-apocalyptic society resembling the antebellum South, but all contained on the Matilda, a ship hurtling through space to a promised land. Gender norms and genetics, plant life and science have evolved on the Matilda, but racism a religious fervor remain. Aster, a brilliant scientist and slave, and the Surgeon Theo risk it all to bring the oppressive regime down. Solomon Rivers is an incredibly gifted writer and I am hoping for a sequel because I don't think this story is over.

KatieD_KCMO Nov 03, 2018

One of the most inventive, unique and brilliant debuts I've read. Rivers places the reader within a post-apocalyptic society resembling the antebellum South, but all contained on the Matilda, a ship hurtling through space to a promised land. Gender norms and genetics, plant life and science have evolved on the Matilda, but racism a religious fervor remain. Aster, a brilliant scientist and slave, and the Surgeon Theo risk it all to bring the oppressive regime down. Solomon Rivers is an incredibly gifted writer and I am hoping for a sequel because I don't think this story is over.

JCLChrisK Jul 17, 2018

A clear 5 stars for characters, worldbuilding, and social commentary. I would go with 4 stars for plotting and pacing. Though it certainly doesn't lack for excitement and intrigue, it reads a bit episodically, with an underlying emphasis on each episode illustrating an experience more than carefully crafting a narrative. But what they illustrate is powerful and significant.

Aster's story is just as layered and complex as she is. Just as real and personal and nuanced. As eloquent, expressive, and heartfelt. And, though often painful and not exactly enjoyable, important and rewarding.

r
rixonkj
Mar 20, 2018

This book reminded me a LOT of Octavia E. Butler. This is maybe an inevitable comparison for any black woman writer of speculative fiction, but there really is a kinship between this book and Butler's work, especially Wild Seed--in the relationships people have with science, with gender, and especially with power.

It's not a happy book. It wasn't always easy for me to read--there's a lot of violence, from rape committed by law enforcement figures to amputations performed by the protagonist. But there isn't much gore, and like Butler, Solomon explores the worst humans do to each other in order to find a way to a world where we can do better.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
JCLChrisK Jul 17, 2018

"You're a little off, aren't you?" The woman grabbed Aster's chin, turning her face so they were forced eye to eye. "You're one of those who has to tune the world out and focus on one thing at a time. We have a word for that down here, women like you. Insiwa. Inside one. It means you live inside your head and to step out of it hurts like a caning."

JCLChrisK Jul 17, 2018

I am a boy and a girl and a witch all wrapped into one very strange, flimsy, indecisive body. Do you think my body couldn't decide what it wanted to be?

JCLChrisK Jul 17, 2018

There'd be no forgiveness this time. It was one thing to destroy a person, but to destroy their work was a sacrilege Aster couldn't easily forget. All that was left of a person's life was recorded on paper, in annals, in almanacs, in the physical items they produced. To end that was to end their history, their present, their future.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top