Where the Dead Sit Talking

Where the Dead Sit Talking

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
"With his single mother in jail, Sequoyah, a fifteen-year-old Cherokee boy, is placed in foster care with the Troutt family. Literally and figuratively scarred by his unstable upbringing, Sequoyah has spent years mostly keeping to himself, living with his emotions pressed deep below the surface--that is, until he meets the seventeen-year-old Rosemary, another youth staying with the Troutts. Sequoyah and Rosemary bond over their shared Native American backgrounds and tumultuous paths through the foster care system, but as Sequoyah's feelings toward Rosemary deepen, the precariousness of their lives and the scars of their pasts threaten to undo them both"--
Publisher: New York, NY : Soho Press, [2018]
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9781616958879
1616958871
Branch Call Number: FIC HOBSON 2018
Characteristics: 273 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Newly adopted 15-year-old Cherokee Sequoyah finds an uncanny bond with his fellow native foster sibling Rosemary, even as their largely unsupervised lives gradually spiral toward a very dark place.

Fans of There, There by Tommy Orange may also enjoy this equally compelling and poignant novel by a Cherokee author about Sequoyah, a Cherokee man who recalls his tumultuous teen years as a foster child in 1980s Oklahoma.

Newly adopted 15-year-old Cherokee Sequoyah finds an uncanny bond with his fellow native and foster sibling Rosemary, even as their largely unsupervised lives gradually spiral toward a very dark place.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
n
njon38
Feb 01, 2019

Sequoyah the narrator, a teen age foster child is Cherokee placed with the Troutt family with two other foster kids. The family seems to do their best but it is not enough to save these badly damaged children. The was longlisted for the National Book award but I did not really enjoy reading it.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top