Where the Crawdads Sing

Where the Crawdads Sing

Downloadable Audiobook - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
9
"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle"Owens delivers her lush mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose."--Alexandra FullerHow long can you protect your heart?For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.
Publisher: [New York] : Penguin Audio, 2018
Edition: Unabridged
ISBN: 9780525640370
0525640371
Branch Call Number: EAUDIO OVERDRIVE
Characteristics: 1 online resource (1 audio file (12 hr., 18 min., 28 sec.)) : digital
digital,rda
audio file,rda
Additional Contributors: Campbell, Cassandra

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
c
canrob77
Aug 01, 2020

Wonderfully written and the book keeps you on edge as you don't want to put it down

IndyPL_SteveB Jun 27, 2020

This is primarily a story about the survival and eventual maturation of Kya, a girl who was abandoned by her mother at age 6 and by the rest of her family over the next couple of years. She grows up in a marshland in North Carolina, near the ocean, and learns to take care of herself. But it is also a murder mystery, about a murder which takes place many years later. Kya’s life and the murder investigation form two distinct timelines, which are explored early in the book. We know who the victim is right away and we assume that there will be a connection with Kya. This future murder hangs over young Kya’s story like a boulder hanging over a house.

The writing itself is beautiful. Owens is a biologist herself, and her ability to draw us into the life of the marsh is powerful. Kya learns about the ways of the world from her observations of the natural life around her and makes frequent comparisons with the ways of humans as she learns about them. But this is contrasted by Kya’s experience of abandonment, first by her family, and secondly by other men in her life. The marsh and the ocean, and especially the birds which inhabit them, seem like the most important constants for her and the only things which can compensate for her deep loneliness.

While I was in many ways mesmerized by this book, I don’t think the author gave us enough detail for us to believe how Kya was able to survive on her own as a young child. And I don’t think the author thought through the murder investigation very well. Even with those misgivings, I enjoyed the book very much.

Narrator Cassandra Campbell handles the nature description and young Kya well, but she fails to make Kya sound older as time goes by. That becomes a distraction.

r
ROBIN K TAYLOR
Apr 03, 2020

This is a book you read and then immediately try and find others who have read it so you can talk about how amazing it was!

r
Rinny_Who
Mar 29, 2020

An intricately detailed life of a determined and unusual girl, raising herself in a North Carolina swamp outside of a small town, against all odds. I loved the narrator, the accent. (If the pace feels too slow, try 1.5 speed.)

b
boykin1959
Feb 24, 2020

I listen to this on a play away, as a mother it was hard to imagine how a 6 year old could possibly live on her own. Most of this unrealistic story had me on the defense. I forced myself to finish it, then the ending was over the top ..... like my Mother would say...” What a Put on!!” It left me regretting the whole investment.

c
cbloniarz
Oct 10, 2019

This book was phenomenal. I am not much for reading but got it for free on Audible so listened. Initially it didn't peak my interest enough to binge listen from the get go. After the first two or so chapters I couldn't stop listening. I found it interesting even though it was such a slow paced procession of events. I would highly recommend. But the ending..........WOW, I didn't see that coming. I can't wait to see the movie once it's out.

s
SolvayGirl
Aug 09, 2019

NO SPOILERS AHEAD: I enjoyed the natural history writing more than the story itself, but I don't tend to be a fan of popular fiction in general. The author and their editor did an incredible job of crafting both a mystery and a character study of a small town in coastal North Carolina with all of its warts and beauty. The story arcs were perfect, the timeline flashbacks were nicely done and didn't confuse or distract, but the total package still, for me, didn't quite work.

There were plot holes that never quite got filled—even with the big reveal at the end, maybe especially with the big reveal at the end. I found the main plot vehicle to be so implausible that it kept distracting me from the story. I liked the protagonist, was interested in her and how she coped with everything that came her way but must admit, I never really connected with her. Perhaps the author did too good a job creating a character that had walled herself off from people.

So, read this book so you can talk about it with others who have read it. Like The Goldfinch, Game of Thrones, and other über-popular pieces of fiction, it is part of our cultural canon now. Once you do, comment here. I'd like to know what others think.

h
HKMar
Jul 10, 2019

I NOW get the hype. The ending REALLY did it for me. I don't want to spoil it for anyone but I would like to see this into a film adaptation. I appreciated the classism issues and the cultures that we are currently seeing in middle America and of the south. Although this book takes place in the late 60's it mirrors current issues and is relevant to modern America. I recommend audio book or downloadable the narration is fun especially with the southern drawls and accents. My favorite character is Sunday Justice. I want to see him on the big screen.

k
kmobuckeye
Feb 04, 2019

So slow. But good. Would be better as a movie.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top