The Bird King

The Bird King

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
The story of Fatima, a concubine in the royal court of Granada, the last emirate of Muslim Spain, and her dearest friend Hassan, the palace mapmaker. Hassan has a secret--he can draw maps of places he's never seen and bend the shape of reality. When representatives of the newly formed Spanish monarchy arrive to negotiate the sultan's surrender, Fatima befriends one of the women, not realizing that she will see Hassan's gift as sorcery and a threat to Christian Spanish rule. With their freedoms at stake, what will Fatima risk to save Hassan and escape the palace walls?
Publisher: New York : Grove Press, [2019]
Edition: First Grove Atlantic hardcover edition
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9780802129031
080212903X
Branch Call Number: FIC WILSON 2019
Characteristics: 403 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Adult Fiction. “After several years writing comic books, the author of World Fantasy Award-winning novel Alif the Unseen (2012) returns to long-form fiction with a lovely fable sent during the final days of the Reconquista. A thoughtful and beautiful balance between the real and the fantastic.&qu... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
l
laphampeak
May 17, 2019

Colorful and full of adventure! It's a bit of a cat and mouse escapade via a fantasy medium. There seems to be more adventure and less plot yet the ride was immensely enjoyable.

RomanceAddict Apr 27, 2019

"The Bird King" is a fantasy that incorporates aspects of Islamic culture and belief, but is quite different from her previous novel, "Alif the Unseen". The story is original, highly imaginative, and the plot flows along, at first as slowly as Fatima's endless, languid days in the harem, and then as quickly as her flight and search for the land of the Bird King. Wilson's writing style is engaging and brilliantly detailed. If you're looking to branch out from Wilson's comics (Ms. Marvel, Air, Cairo), this fantasy is a good place to start.

DCLadults Apr 24, 2019

A New & Noteworthy pick. Hassan has a secret. He can draw maps of places he's never seen and bend the shape of reality. Now that’s a good trick!

AshleyF2008 Apr 16, 2019

G. Willow Wilson has a lovely writing style. She doesn't waste words, even when describing the setting. The relationship between Hassan and Fatima is relatable and unique and complicated. My only slight complaint is that the plot moved a little slowly. But I enjoyed the journey.

noramw Mar 28, 2019

Lush and wonderful language, characters, and worldbuilding make this an enjoyable read for fans of historical fantasy. The relationship between concubine Fatima and mapmaker Hassan is multifaceted and compelling. A good choice for readers who liked Uprooted and City of Brass.

Phil_R Mar 21, 2019

Not quite the same packed type of action as Alif the Unseen, but really ramps up toward the end for a series of payoffs that truly got my heart pounding. Feels a lot like Pullman's 'Book of Dust', but I'd say this is a better novel.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top