Wanderers

Wanderers

A Novel

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world's last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival. Shana wakes up one morning to discover her little sister in the grip of a strange malady. She appears to be sleepwalking. She cannot talk and cannot be woken up. And she is heading with inexorable determination to a destination that only she knows. But Shana and are sister are not alone. Soon they are joined by a flock of sleepwalkers from across America, on the same mysterious journey. And like Shana, there are other "shepherds" who follow the flock to protect their friends and family on the long dark road ahead. For on their journey, they will discover an America convulsed with terror and violence, where this apocalyptic epidemic proves less dangerous than the fear of it. As the rest of society collapses all around them--and an ultraviolent militia threatens to exterminate them--the fate of the sleepwalkers depends on unraveling the mystery behind the epidemic. The terrifying secret will either tear the nation apart--or bring the survivors together to remake a shattered world.--
Publisher: New York : Del Rey, [2019]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9780399182105
0399182101
9781984820792
1984820796
Branch Call Number: FIC WENDIG 2019
Characteristics: xii, 782 pages ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
b
booknrrd
Oct 27, 2019

In Wanderers, people start leaving their homes and walking across the country in a trance-like state the day after a comet crosses the sky. Are the two events related? No one knows. Shana doesn't care. She just wants her sister back, so she and some of the friends and family of other walkers follow along as they walk, protecting them from scared outsiders. Meanwhile, the CDC is on the case, and a Midwestern preacher uses this opportunity to preach about the end of days, further igniting people's fears.

I feel like it behooves me to warn people that Wendig is an outspoken critic of our current president, and that is reflected in this novel. (There is a presidential election storyline and a large presence of white supremacists that I didn't cover in my synopsis.) That said, I really enjoyed this. I often wished it was a bit shorter, but he packed a lot into it! If your group can get past its length, I think this would make a great book club pick. Just maybe ignore the politics because it's hard to discuss that without making people angry.

The book that I've read that this most reminded me of was The Passage by Justin Cronin because both feature a pandemic and the CDC and skew a little toward violence, and they're long. It also reminded me of The Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walker because that came out earlier this year and featured a sleeping pandemic and the walkers in Wanderers almost appear to be sleepwalking, but really the similarities are few and far between beyond that. The Road by Cormac McCarthy would probably be a better comparison in that both feature characters traveling great distances, violence, and strong relationships between main characters.

m
meme1032
Aug 06, 2019

Exciting, suspenseful lengthy novel. 780 Pages- lots of details bogged down reading. The end is set up for a sequel, I am looking forward to the next book.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top